Blog Posts · Collection · Love · Words

It Might Have Been

“Of all sad words of mouth or pen

the saddest are these:

It might have been.”

– John Greenleaf Whittier

It might have been…

It might have been

a small fight.

 

It might have been

a few words.

 

It might have been

easy

to make up.

 

It might have been

easy

to still call you a friend.

 

It might have been

my fault.

 

It might have been

my emotions.

 

It might have been

my heart so full of hurt

that I did not want to hear

another

word.

 

I did not want to hear

these words:

Don’t give up;

life is worth living.

 

It might have been

a small fight.

 

It might have been

a short time

until I saw you

again.

 

But I could not be your friend

Because

I could not even be

my own.

 

It might have been

more than just

a small fight.

 

But I still love you.

 

……….

 

Dedicated to an old friend;
Love has reunited us.

Still reading?

Lucky you! You have found a very special link… The original version of this piece of writing is actually an audio recording. I posted it on Youtube, just for you! I would love for you to give it a listen.

P.S. I guess you could say it is my first attempt at spoken word, but that was not the original intention. These words came straight from my heart and I felt that there was no time to write them down.

Click now, and let me know if you enjoyed it!

It Might Have Been (AUDIO): youtu.be/vEO9DX6fVsQ

Leave a Reply

