Blog Posts · Collection · Favourites · Inspiration · Life Lessons · Love · Love - Favourites · Non-Fiction · Quotes · Spirituality · Words

Mistaken For A Captive

Once upon a time

I wanted to be free.

 

I wanted

to be free

so I ran away from everything and everyone.

 

I ran

from commitment.

From people.

From love.

From helping hands.

 

I wanted

to be free

so I hid myself away from the world.

 

The further I ran,

the less free I felt.

 

So I ran

all the way back,

and then I looked around.

 

I still felt like a captive,

but I was the only one holding myself hostage.

 

So I unlocked the cage,

and I walked out

into a new reality.

 

A reality

that was there all along

but the cage had blocked my view.

 

Fear had blocked my view.

 

In my new reality

I began to explore

the universe

inside of myself

and outside of myself.

 

I found

that I had nothing to lose

by being myself.

 

I found

that I had nothing to fear

except myself.

 

I found

that all the changes I once wanted to make

I thought that other people could make for me.

 

They were supposed to influence me.

Inspire me.

 

I found

that all the changes I once wanted to make

were already made,

but fear prevented them from manifesting.

 

I have always been free

within the infinite universe.

 

I am no longer my own captive.

 

Love is my inspiration;

“love is that which enables choice.”

 

To love,

is my only desire.

 

To love,

for the sake of loving,

internal and external universe, alike.

 

By fulfilling my own and only desire,

I am free.

One thought on “Mistaken For A Captive

Leave a Reply

